The Teapot in All Its Glory!

Still unnamed Teapot ©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass

Today is the post that I promised. Here are the photos of the newly completed teapot! I love the way it turned out, even though it unintentionally looks like a sea turtle or manatee crossed with an elephant. I’ve been having a hard time coming up with a name for it. I’m thinking something involving the word (or just the word) Lorica. What do you think? I don’t really want to give it a funny name like Tea Turtle, Teapunk, or Manatea (as I earlier eluded to.) But it’s just been really hard this time.

Back of said teapot ©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass

The riveting went pretty well, though I did have to finagle it a bit to be able to get to all the joints. I really worked at the design as I went to make sure that I would be able to get it all together. It meant some modifications and not as many rivets as I originally imagined, but I still love the way it’s all connected. What do you think about it? Do you like the connections, the pieces, and the textures?

Bottom of the teapot (looks like it's beached) ©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
Almost Named Teapot ©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass

 

8 thoughts on “The Teapot in All Its Glory!

  1. Honestly it’s not my cup of tea. =P Which is a good thing because I couldn’t have one. I do like it aesthetically, but as a whole.. I do not like it as much as I enjoy your bowls for instance. I’ve really enjoyed watching it come together and your thoughts along the way.. I could relate to your post about passion, sanding and filing. Not every aspect of what I do is as enjoyable as others, but as a whole I love my work!

    Like

  2. Once again you met a new challenge and did you self and our art proud. Thanks for all of the time and effort you put into showing how this all came together. Best of luck at the show.

    Like

  3. Hi Wendy – this is a teapot like no other – rivets and all. Does it work? Or did the challenge only require it to be in a teapot form? It reminds me of armour> I wonder if its name might reflect the challenge of two months of beating it into shape etc – Spartan, Gladiator??? Hope it goes well in the challenge exhibition. Barry

    Like

  4. Thank you everyone for all your kind words and support!
    Barry – it is nonfunctional. The exhibit only asked that it be teapot ish – including a lid, handle, spout, and portly teapot shape.
    Pirate – It did turn out differently than my bowls have been. I wish I could’ve worked in more texture or cut-out pieces, but I really wanted that shape and I had to focus on how to put it all together. I like the way it turned out, but it is a little different.
    Everyone – I did enjoy sharing the process as well. It helps keep me on task and that way I can look back and see how far I’ve come.

    Like

Comments are closed.