Lull

A photographer between waves and mussels
A photographer between waves and mussels (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Ebbs and flows – everybody has them. Sometimes we control their pattern, other times it feels like we’re constantly going against the tide.

The teapot is done (though unnamed) and now is a very ebby time for me. I purposely set aside a week to catch my breath. It’s draining working on a huge project like that. To have your focus on one thing for two months leaves little time to figure out what’s next.

Sneak peak of the finished teapot. Official wrap-up post will be on Monday.
©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass

Even though I planned it, I still don’t like having no idea what my next project will be. I’ll probably start small, maybe a ring or simple pendant. It helps to just start making something, then the juices start to flow again. And I’ll probably also get to some much needed house projects.

What are your rhythms like? Do you choose your lulls or do they choose you?

PS WordPress suggested the tag Mitt Romney for this post…

4 thoughts on “Lull

  1. Ebb and Flow, Wax and Wane, Beat and Rest, Inhale and Exhale – all must coexist, for without one, the other has no meaning. Sometimes it is hard to be in that space between beats, but it is an important space, Wendy. Your work stays vital and interesting because you honor that – even if it’s uncomfortable to take time and NOT make.

    Like

  2. I just took 4 days off from making jewelry after a frantic week of amping up production for a gallery reception. I don’t know about you guys, but after 4 days, I feel like I’m gonna crawl out of my skin if I don’t get back in the studio and create whatever cockamamie (I think that’s a word) designs are rolling around in my brain pan.

    Like

  3. In my 20s, I never took a day off from writing, even if I wasn’t on deadline. (I was always on deadline, seemingly.) Photography was a matter of ebbs and flows, especially when I had a show going up.

    A decade later, I may take a day of here or there when I’m writing, but I try to keep my muscles warm. I know there’s always a big bump when I finish a big photography show, though, or a longer writing piece. I think the lull is a natural resting place. It’s an uncomfortable feeling, but part of the cycle— you rest, then recharge, then rise and lift again.

    I’m so glad you finished your teapot! Congratulations!

    Like

  4. Thanks, everyone, for your thoughts. I get antsy too when I haven’t been in the studio for a while, but if I go in when I really have no idea what to work on and I’m a little burned out, it spells disaster or at least frustration. So today is a chore day at home (ugh) and maybe some reading. Then hopefully I’ll be able to come up with some new designs for next week…

    Like

Comments are closed.