Fall Flavors

English: Candy corn, specifically Brach's cand...

English: Candy corn, specifically Brach’s candy corn. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There are so many yummy foods associated with Fall. Crisp apples, warm pies, and of course candy corn. I love spices like cinnamon and clove and this is the perfect time of year to enjoy them. Here are some links to Fall friendly recipes for you to enjoy:

Honey Chipotle Pecans
This recipe doubles easily.
2 tbsp honey
1 1/2 tsp chipotle powder
3/4 tsp cinnamon
2 cups pecans
2 tbsp sugar
3/4 tsp salt
Preheat oven to 350.

In a medium skillet, combine honey, chipotle powder and cinnamon over medium heat until melted and combined. Add pecans and stir until coated.
Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 10-15 minutes, or until fragrant. Cool slightly (1-2 minutes).

Combine sugar and salt in a bowl, add pecans and toss until coated. Spread out on a piece of parchment paper and cool completely.
Be warned that if you have one…you will have another.
Store in an airtight container.

About Wendy Edsall-Kerwin

Metal. To many it is hard, rigid, and immovable. But metal flows, bends, and can be worked over and over again. It is both industrial and
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall Flavors

  1. Hi Wendy,

    I really enjoy your metal posts, and these recipes are a must-do, but you shouldn’t have displayed the candy corn as it is quite the downfall for me…I will eat the whole bag if no one’s around !

    I have a question for you, I hope you don’t mind. I know how to solder sterling and copper, but I am taking an online class creating brass or bronze reliquaries to fill with resin. We are to use plumbers lead free wire solder and I cannot get the hang of it, plus the fumes are terrible because the metal burns.

    The instructor insists on wire solder for a grungy look, but couldn’t I use regular silver solder instead? I don’t want to burn any more metal!

    Thanks,

    Sharon

    Like

    • Sharon,
      I don’t use plumbers solder, but the instructor might be having you use it because the piece is larger. I’ve soldered brass and bronze, but both will get a coating of copper once you put it into pickle. That might be another reason the instructor is using the low-temp stuff. Try it, maybe it will work better for you.

      Like

Comments are closed.