It’s Time for the 2016 YBC Challenge!

Tim McCreight - A Constant source of inspiration
Tim McCreight – A Constant source of inspiration

It’s Summer so it’s time to get a move on with this year’s Yellow Breeches Chapter of the Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen’s challenge. This year the theme is “Box.” I’ve been thinking about it awhile, looking for inspiration all over. I created a Pinterest Board for inspiration and I found this cool book at work.

The original sketch for my box. Of course it has morphed in the making.
The original sketch for my box. Of course it has morphed in the making. YBC Challenge Box ©2016 WTEK

Of course I can’t make a normal box, mine won’t be square/rectangle. It’s going to be wonky and round-ish. It’s also only going to be about 6″ across. You won’t see the final piece…yet. (Of course it’s not done either!) The final reveal of everyone’s pieces will be at our September Chapter meeting. I hope to see you there!

The main part of my YBC Challenge Box ©2016 WTEK
The main part of my YBC Challenge Box ©2016 WTEK
The bottom for the main part of my YBC Challenge Box ©2016 WTEK
The bottom for the main part of my YBC Challenge Box ©2016 WTEK
The pattern for the next big piece of the box (ignore what it's sitting on - that's just a prop) YBC Challenge Box ©2016 WTEK
The pattern for the next big piece of the box (ignore what it’s sitting on – that’s just a prop) YBC Challenge Box ©2016 WTEK