Scrapped Ideas

nickel scraps

Triple Shield Pendant ©2016 WTEK brass on an 18" rubber cord
Triple Shield Pendant ©2016 WTEK brass on an 18″ rubber cord

I’ve been in a slight slump lately creatively and one of my favorite ways to get out of it is to peruse my scrap pile. Jewelry made from scrap metal? YES! My junk yard is chock full of cut-offs from my bowls and sculptures that are too small for sculpture, but just right for earrings and pendants. I made two necklaces recently this way.

The first was a pendant using three oval-ish shapes riveted together. This one is made from brass on an 18″ rubber cord with a gold-filled clasp.

nickel fishThe other one used a piece of nickel I’d been eyeing for awhile now. It was a cool texture in an arched shape that wanted something special done with it. I have also been meaning to make a gorget type necklace, so I decided to combine these goals into a cool piece.

nickel fish with paperI converted a template from the Rose Bowl Trophy to act as a frame to put the nickel part on, cut them out, formed them, and then riveted the pieces together. After adding a brass chain with a hook clap I made, it was ready to be worn.

If you’re interested in either of these pieces, just email me and I’ll get them right out to you!

yet to be named gorget ©2016 WTEK nickel, brass $200.00
yet to be named gorget ©2016 WTEK nickel, brass $200.00
yet to be named gorget ©2016 WTEK nickel, brass $200.00
yet to be named gorget ©2016 WTEK nickel, brass $200.00

Save

2 thoughts on “Scrapped Ideas

  1. Yes! I LOVE throwing down scraps, the more beaten up the better–get my best pieces this way! By the way, I very much enjoy your posts!

    Like

Comments are closed.