Net Worth

My designing process ©2016 WTEK
My designing process ©2016 WTEK

I don’t do commission work all that often, but occasionally I have a client who offers me a fun, challenging, or otherwise tempting proposal and I accept. Last month one of my good clients (and artist/co-owner of one of my galleries) wanted a ring to match a cuff of mine she had bought a couple of years ago.

Cutting out the net ©2016 WTEK
Cutting out the net ©2016 WTEK

Now, I haven’t made a ring in a while, really I haven’t worked on much jewelry over the past year, but I was intrigued by this challenge. You see, the cuff in question was my net cuff, but how do you translate that into a ring. We had a nice discussion about what sort of colors of stones you liked, some options for bands and styles, and then I went on vacation. This gave me plenty of time to mull over different options in my head without feeling pressure to start something right away.

All soldered up! ©2016 WTEK
All soldered up! ©2016 WTEK

I got back home and started working out a few different ideas. I showed her some stones in colors that she liked, she picked two, and then I designed more around them. Inspiration struck and I worked out a few designs with various levels of “net” for her to pick from. Ultimately, she chose the design I thought she would, and I was ready to start actually making it.

Finished! ©2016 WTEK
Finished! ©2016 WTEK

The making went surprisingly well. Because the stones were so small (for me anyway) due to having to fit a finger, I used bought settings (this also helps keep the price reasonable.) I made the band and backing and soldered it all together. It was challenging to create a piece to match something I made years ago, and to make small enough to fit a finger, but still have enough detail for it to match that cuff.

Check out Melanie wearing it with her cuff - they totally match! ©2016 WTEK
Check out Melanie wearing it with her cuff – they totally match! ©2016 WTEK

I had fun making it and the client sent me some images of her wearing it along with the cuff and it’s super cool to see how well they match. I’m so happy I was able to do this project, it was fun and had just the right amount of challenge. Thanks, Melanie!

2 thoughts on “Net Worth

Comments are closed.