Blooming in the Studio

This started the same way as Vortex & The Rose Bowl Trophy ©2016 WTEK
This started the same way as Vortex & The Rose Bowl Trophy ©2016 WTEK

I’ve been working on a tall sculpture in the studio recently, that has taken a turn from where it started. As I was working on the bowl portion, I thought, “what if I keep the ‘petals’ open?” I got this cool, twisted shape on a tall stand. I was working on some templates to add a third layer to the ‘bloom,’ making it even taller (and to help balance it out visually.) Hopefully I get some more time in this weekend to get it close to finished.

The base being tried out ©2016 WTEK
The base being tried out ©2016 WTEK
Now checking it out with the 'bloom' on ©2016 WTEK
Now checking it out with the ‘bloom’ on ©2016 WTEK
I turned the bottom out, giving it 'feet' and more stability ©2016 WTEK
I turned the bottom out, giving it ‘feet’ and more stability ©2016 WTEK