It’s Fun to Play at the YBC

Ann & Connie
Ann & Connie
YBC members have fun
YBC members having fun

As may remember, I am a member of the Yellow Breeches Chapter of the PA Guild of Craftsmen (truth be told, I’m the Vice President of the chapter.) Every month we have meetings where we go over Chapter business, talk about upcoming events, and there is always a program of some sort. We’ve had show & tell, presentations by local arts venues and groups, and last night we had a fun make and take.

Our little maker's kit
Our little maker’s kit

Ann Boncal and Connie Hollenbaugh gave a presentation on chain maille (Ann did most of the talking and Connie put the kits together for us.) Then after finding out a bit about the history of it, we got to try our hand at making a bracelet. It was an easy chain, but it created a cool spiral and it was fun to work on something short and sweet.

Close-up in process shot
Close-up in process shot

I got to go around the room and check out how everybody was doing and even though the majority of members there hadn’t done this before (and don’t even work in metal) everyone made great progress and had fun.

Finished product (I finished it up at home, about 1/2 of it got finished at the meeting)
Finished product (I finished it up at home, about 1/2 of it got finished at the meeting)

2 thoughts on “It’s Fun to Play at the YBC

  1. It was a fun time and I was sorry I had to leave early. Plus, my arthritic hands did not do well with that medium. I appreciate their artform even more knowing the level of skill & patience it takes to work with all those little bitty chains. Your bracelet turned out great!

    Like

Comments are closed.