A Dark and Stormy…Painting?

The photo I used for reference came from the Facebook page of the voyage
The photo I used for reference came from the Facebook page of the voyage

That’s right, painting. I’ve been hard at work on a super secret project – a painting for my hubster. He always gets me such awesome, well thought out gifts, and he never wants anything. So I wanted to do something super special for him this year.

The underpainting was all marked out to get it right. ©2015 WTEK
The underpainting was all marked out to get it right. ©2015 WTEK

For the past year he was following the l’Hermione – a replica of Lafayette’s tall ship – that was built and sailed across from France to various US (and  Canada) ports of call. We even went to Philly for a couple of days to see it in person this Summer.

Sails painted out after doing the sky ©2015 WTEK
Sails painted out after doing the sky ©2015 WTEK

So I thought it would make a great present to find a painting of it (or a print even.) I could only find one painting when searching online, and it wasn’t what I thought he would like. So I decided to paint one myself.

I want to point out that I’ve painting in acrylic once in high school and then as a backdrop to Scavenger, but that’s about it. (I have painted in watercolors though.) So I probably did everything wrong, but I love the way it it came out anyway! I know he’ll be super surprised tomorrow when we exchange gifts. I can’t wait to see his face!

With the yellows, brown, and blue added ©2015 WTEK
With the yellows, brown, and blue added ©2015 WTEK
Everything but the varnish ©2015 WTEK 16" x 20" acrylic on panel
Everything but the varnish ©2015 WTEK 16″ x 20″ acrylic on panel
Sean & I on the deck of l'Hermione ©2015 WTEK
Sean & I on the deck of l’Hermione ©2015 WTEK

4 thoughts on “A Dark and Stormy…Painting?

Comments are closed.