Few and Far Between

Starting out textured and annealed ©2015 WTEK
Starting out textured and annealed ©2015 WTEK

That title is referring to the studio days I have this time of year. It’s frustrating when you can’t have enough days close enough together – you start to lose momentum. But I was able to get in some time this weekend and start work on a new sculpture that I showed a paper mock-up of a few weeks ago. (No, I haven’t finished that other one yet!)

Now with all the folds and opened back up again ©2015 WTEK
Now with all the folds and opened back up again ©2015 WTEK

This one will be much taller than my previous pieces. I’m also trying for a shallower cut and folded bowl with slightly asymmetrical “petals” on it. So far I have the texture and the folds done on the base and bowl. There will probably be some additional petals placed around the edges to broaden the bowl. Let me tell you that unfolding 18″ sheets of nickel is quite the workout.

One part of the base cut-out ©2015 WTEK
One part of the base cut-out ©2015 WTEK

I began cutting out the base shapes, but then then handle disconnected itself from my saw frame. I’m hoping that it’s reattached, but there might have to be a new one in my near future. I kind of really need it to move forward with this piece, my back-up 4″ deep frame won’t do the job.

The brass sheet all marked out to cut the bowl shape out ©2015 WTEK
The brass sheet all marked out to cut the bowl shape out ©2015 WTEK