My Teeny Tiny Ceramics Collection

tiny pots on their shelf
tiny pots on their shelf

Collecting art can happen in all forms. Some people have vast collections that they need multiple houses to contain. Others, buy a piece here and there and end up with something impressive at the end of their life. Then there are people like me who accidentally become a collector of something strangely specific.

Work by Kurt Branter, Pam Cumming, & Tim Knight
Work by Kurt Branter, Pam Cumming, & Tim Knight

I have a teeny tiny ceramic vessel collection!

Yes, it means exactly what you think it means. It is both teeny in the number of pieces I own (though that does grow slowly, but surely) and tiny in the size of each piece. They are all under 4″ tall. It started with some pieces my grandfather made before I was born that I inherited when my grandmother died. Then I got a couple pieces by Tim Knight. He gets amazing colors by firing the ceramics with different chemicals in the wood fire. Last year I bought a piece each by Pam Cummings (a cute little soy sauce pourer) and Kurt Branter (a creamer that doubles as a maple syrup warmer/pourer.) You can see I’m a fan of the wood fire/minimal glaze look.

Work by my grandfather
Work by my grandfather

So your art collection doesn’t have to be big or full of big name artists. Start small, start by accident, just buy what makes you happy at a price and size that keeps you that way.

Now I just need to get a bigger shelf…

Posted in Art

2 thoughts on “My Teeny Tiny Ceramics Collection

  1. Love it!!!!! I tell people shopping at craft shows to buy what they love and from artists they connect with and everything will go together…….it’s amazing how you are drawn to certain colors, finishes etc!

    Like

  2. Wendy,
    I love the small vessels and the story of how your interest grew. Some of my favorite pieces in our home were made by my uncle and were given to me after he passed away.

    Like

Comments are closed.