40 Fun Facts for my Fortieth Birthday

It’s a big one – my 40th birthday is here. Of course, I’m more interested in my 42nd birthday, but this is still pretty big. So to help me celebrate, I’ve given you 40 fun facts:

  1. Freya's Folly ©2010 sterling silver, graveyard plume agate, ocean jasper - inspired by meditation
    Freya’s Folly ©2010 sterling silver, graveyard plume agate, ocean jasper – necklace or  really fancy noose?

    Keegan Michael-Key went to Penn State probably during the same time as Dominque Dawes and Kerri Strugg

  2. All the gold that has ever been refined throughout history could be placed in a cube measuring 65.5 feet (20 meters) on a side.
  3. The word necklace comes from the Latin word laqueus, which means “noose”
  4. The Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean are named after dogs (latin: canis)
  5. Tourmalines and quartz will develop an electrical charge when heated, and tourmaline jewelry will attract dust when displayed under hot lights
  6. Stink bugs like to land on me while I’m hammering metal
  7. The aardwolf is the only species of hyena with five toes on its front feet. All other hyenas have four toes.
  8. Diamonds were first discovered in India, over 2400 years ago.
  9. Mesopotamia invented the wheel, plow, irrigation systems and the sailboat.
  10. The word copper and its symbol Cu come from the Latin word for Cyprus “Cuprum”, where the Ancient Romans mined much of their copper.
  11. My middle initial is “T” and I like to pretend that stands for Tiberius
  12. Oceans are the greatest single reservoir of gold at Earth’s surface, containing approximately eight times the total quantity of gold mined to date
  13. Aleister Crowley is exactly 100 years older than me.
  14. Mount Williams is the 4th highest peak in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
  15. In ancient Egypt hyenas were domesticated and raised for food
  16. Radiation causes Diamonds to turn green
  17. My left foot is slightly bigger than my right one
  18. Iron is the 6th most common element found in the Universe (I’m not sure how we can know this with any certainty, but OK, I’ll buy it)
  19. Aardwolf

    In the Aztec language, the name for gold is teocuitlatl, which means “excrement of the gods.”

  20. On October 4, 1957, the first artificial satellite was launched by the Soviet Union
  21. Most of the country’s glass marbles are made around Parkersburg, WV
  22. Baby crows have blue eyes
  23. My husband and I rode horses up through the streets of Mont St Michel.
  24. A dime has 118 ridges around the edge.
  25. Big Stick No. 141 is a rural municipality in the Canadian province of Saskatchewan.
  26. I’ve tried learning three different languages – French, Japanese, & German none of which I’m fluent in
  27. A syzygy occurs when three atronomical bodies line up.
  28. Your momma wears combat boots (just checking if you’re still reading)
  29. In Hazleton, PA there is a law on the books that prohibits a person from sipping a carbonated drink while lecturing students in a school auditorium.
  30. One ounce of gold can be stretched into a thin wire measuring only five microns, or five millionths of a meter, thick, that would reach in a straight line from midtown Manhattan across Long Island Sound to Bridgeport, Connecticut–a distance of 80 kilometers or 50 miles.
  31. I’ve walked through the Gates of Babylon – this is 100% true
  32. Over 81,000 kgs (179,000 lbs) of copper was used to build The Statue of Liberty
  33. The World’s Largest Hammer, a replica of a Vaughan claw hammer, stands at the Pierson Building Center in California. It is 26 feet tall.
  34. In one feeding frenzy, a spotted hyena can eat up to one third of its body weight (much like a teenage boy)

    Me aka Betty Robinson in 1928
  35. I’ve made sausage from scratch and helped butcher a pig (not slaughter, butcher)
  36. Along with iron, cobalt and gadolinium, nickel is one of just 4 elements that are magnetic at or near room temperature
  37. The hedgehog is born with its spines lying just under the skin. The spines will “sprout” 2-3 days after they are born.
  38. I’m secretly a vampire who went by the name of Betty Robinson and won a gold medal in the 1928 & 1936 Olympics
  39. The Rockville Bridge in Harrisburg is the longest stone arch bridge in the world.
  40. I was born blonde – insert joke here

4 thoughts on “40 Fun Facts for my Fortieth Birthday

Comments are closed.