New Work – Buckles, Earrings, & Necklaces

Two pairs of sterling silver earrings ©2015 WTEK
Two pairs of sterling silver earrings ©2015 WTEK

I know, boring title, right? But I used up all my creativity this week getting a bunch of new jewelry finished for the show this Friday. I managed to make two more pairs of earrings and another belt buckle since I last posted work, plus I finished all the other pieces. So that’s a total of two necklaces, two buckles, and three pairs of earrings. Whewwww!

Just after soldering the back together ©2015 WTEK
Just after soldering the back together ©2015 WTEK

As you can see, I used similar shapes to tie these pieces together. I started with the big brass and copper necklace, then used those shapes to make the silver necklace. Then I used one of the shapes as the design for the big net earrings. I liked them so much in brass that I made another pair in silver.

Ahhh, much better looking! ©2015 WTEK
Ahhh, much better looking! ©2015 WTEK

The second belt buckle is a variation on the net earrings, I slightly tweaked the shape to fit a scrap of brass. Then I tweaked it again for the nickel backing. Finally, I used some of the inners from the silver net earrings combined with a pattern from that original brass necklace. It comes back around full circle!

Ta da! Belt Buckle ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass
Ta da! Belt Buckle ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass

So what do think I should name this series? I’m thinking something stone related, but what are your thoughts?

The whole shebang ©2015 WTEK
The whole shebang ©2015 WTEK