Visiting the Millworks in Harrisburg

Look, I actually leave my house sometimes! (with Christine Goldbeck)
Look, I actually leave my house sometimes! (with Christine Goldbeck)

Today was the Harrisburg Gallery Walk. I meant to go, really I did, and I did manage to get to a few other places. But I basically spent the day at the Millworks. Of course, I do know know a number of the artists who have studios there. In fact, most of those are Yellow Breeches Chapter members, so a fair amount of time was spent “talking shop.”

But there are THREE FLOORS OF ARTISTS! All kinds of artists too. Assemblage artists, potters, painters, photographers, mixed media artists, printers, jewelry, weavers, you name it and someone there probably does it. Since it was an event day, almost all of them were in house to demonstrate and/or talk about their art. It was fantastic!

Marsha Souders demonstrating her clay monoprinting technique ©2015 WTEK
Marsha Souders demonstrating her clay monoprinting technique ©2015 WTEK

Is that not enough for you? Well the Millworks has a restaurant and bar too. I didn’t sample the food, but the two smokers sitting out front smelled magnificent and I was assured that it tastes as good as it smells. I will go back with the hubster and check that out. I was treated to a cocktail and I chose “the Artist,” which they describe as “Kinsey Rye Whiskey, Maple Aromatic Bitters, Absinthe, Scotch Mist.” They set a rind on fire and rubbed it around the rim. Super tasty. And I was told (and witnessed) that you could grab a drink at the bar and cart it around with you while perusing the artists’ studios. I took mine over with Christine Goldbeck where I ended it up spending a crazy amount of time there. It was so worth it.

Where else will you see Christine Goldbeck doing painting yoga while Elaine Brady Smith looks on with a beer in her hand? ©2015 WTEK
Where else will you see Christine Goldbeck doing painting yoga while Elaine Brady Smith looks on with a beer in her hand? ©2015 WTEK

Definitely check it out when you’re in the area. It’s about 1/2 a block from Midtown Scholar, just behind the Broad Street Market. Most artists are there during events like the Gallery Walk or during Third in the Burg each month. They also have studio hours at various times and days throughout the rest of the month, so you never know who you’ll run into at any given visit.