Blood & Sawdust

I came up with that title after sawing, rasping, and just generally poking my fingers while making this project. Plus there was sawdust adhered to my feet from using them as my third and fourth hands ;^)

This is another post about the YBC Challenge, so if you want to be surprised, don’t scroll past this little green guy I saw this morning.

Green GuySeriously, don’t look past this photo of the giant hydrangea bloom that’s as big as my hubby’s head.

HydrangeaOK, Spoiler Alert! You have been triple warned!!

Here is a progression of the work done on the metal portion of my piece:

Skull in Progress ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass
Skull in Progress ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass
Skull in Progress ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass
Skull in Progress ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass
Skull in Progress ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass
Skull in Progress ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass
Finished metal portion ©2015 WTEK brass, nickel
Finished metal portion ©2015 WTEK brass, nickel

And now a couple of the wooden backing portion:

Outside/ back pieces of the wooden frame ©2015 WTEK
Outside/ back pieces of the wooden frame ©2015 WTEK
I prepainted the inside bits of the frame and edge of the panel ©2015 WTEK
I prepainted the inside bits of the frame and edge of the panel ©2015 WTEK

I feel obligated to tell you that the black paint I’m using is made from CARBONIZED BONES. That’s right, people, BONES. So it’s really blood, bones, & sawdust, hah!