Time to Harvest That Bowl

Reap the Whirlwind ©2015 WTEK brass, copper
All the copper leaves on! Reap the Whirlwind ©2015 WTEK brass, copper

Well, I did it, I finished that bowl in time to drop it off yesterday at JAM Gallery for their Fall Exhibition!

I added on each leaf one at a time, like I did on the Rose Bowl trophy, not all at once like I usually do. This makes for a lot of back and forth in the studio, but it does allow me to more each piece around and fit it into it’s spot as the bowl torques slightly with the riveting.

So how do you like it?

4 leaves on! Reap the Whirlwind ©2015 WTEK brass, copper
4 leaves on! Reap the Whirlwind ©2015 WTEK brass, copper

The shape reminded me of a whirlwind and the colors and leaf-ish shapes made me think of Autumn, so I found its name through that: Reap the Whirlwind. I saw this phrase in the dictionary and thought that the idea of harvesting a whirlwind was magnificent. I just seem to really be in this sort of twisty, vortex-y, whirlwind-y kind of mood in my pieces lately!

You can see Reap the Whirlwind at JAM Gallery in Malvern, PA September 1st – October 31st (bwhahahahah) with receptions on September 12th (I’ll be there!) and October 10th (American Craft Week!) from 5 – 8pm.

Reap the Whirlwind ©2015 WTEK brass, copper
Reap the Whirlwind ©2015 WTEK brass, copper 8″h x 10.5″w x 10″d