A Whirlwind of Activity!

One of the brass pieces all folded up and textured ©2015 WTEK
One of the brass pieces all folded up and textured ©2015 WTEK

I finished the metal portion of my YBC Challenge piece, but I wanted to make a new piece for the JAM Fall Exhibition that is fast approaching, so I’ve been in a flurry of activity in the studio trying to get this piece started and finished. I’m making the other design I came up with while working on the Rose Bowl.

First I textured all of the metal – 2 12×12″ 22g sheets of red brass and a 6×13.5″ piece of 22g copper. I wanted to show you the craziness that is trying to open the folds. Look at that consternation on my face.

Grrrr! ©2015 WTEK
Grrrr! ©2015 WTEK

I cut out the base and bowl portions and then six “leaves” to go around the outer edges. I’ve already decided that this is some form of Autumn, leafy, whirlwind kind of bowl. Hmmm, seems perfect for a Fall Exhibition, huh?

To keep it interesting, I’ve decided to cut some “net” portions out of each of the layers. I really like these little details. Plus I added the little detail on the bottom like I did to the Rose Bowl to get them to fit together. All I have to do now is fit the leaves, drill the holes, rivet them together and then finish the whole bowl. Did I mention I have about a day and a half to do this AND take photos of it?

Texturlicious copper all unfolded ©2015 WTEK
Texturlicious copper all unfolded ©2015 WTEK
All the pieces cut out ©2015 WTEK
All the pieces cut out ©2015 WTEK
The bowl and base formed and the net cut-out of two pieces ©2015 WTEK
The bowl and base formed and the net cut-out of two pieces ©2015 WTEK
Bowl and base joined! ©2015 WTEK
Bowl and base joined! ©2015 WTEK
That cute little bottom detail ©2015 WTEK
That cute little bottom detail ©2015 WTEK