Steampunk’d on GSN is Barely OK

The contestants and host of Steampunk’d on GSN

This week I stumbled across the info that there was going to be a Steampunk themed reality show on GSN called Steampunk’d. It started on Wednesday, so I thought I’d give it a try. If you haven’t, don’t bother, especially if you have any strong feelings about Steampunk.

First, the set-up: 10 contestants are split into teams to build two versions of a room to add to the “Manor” using a Steampunk design. One contestant wins the day and one gets booted off.

The contestants are all supposed to be Steampunk “makers” and the judges are apparently famous Steampunk people. I did recognize Thomas Willeford, but that’s because he’s on the Wikipedia page for Steampunk. And remember, I’m only marginally interested in the whole movement.

The hosts of Steampunk’d

My problems with it: As per every reality show out there, they try to focus on the drama. I’d rather focus on the making. Of course, they’re given two days to fit-out a room (the kitchen in this episode) into a Steampunk version. That’s no where near enough time to do it right. So you end up getting a bunch of half-assed barely finished ideas. Plush it seemed to mostly be painting things brass & silver colored rather than using the actual materials. You know that bothers me. Plus neither room really felt Steampunk to me. And don’t get me started on the whole Rube Goldberg machine fiasco.

What they should be doing: I think this would be a stronger program if they did it more like Face Off. There should be a weekly theme and each contestant (or groups of two) makes an outfit that reflects the theme in a Steampunk manner. All but two of the contestants are basically costumers anyway, it’s kind of stupid to have them make a room instead of just the costume. And there should be METAL! And RIVETS!

Did you watch it? What did you think? Am I completely off-base?

PS: I wanted to show you the rooms they came up with, but there aren’t any photos of them on their site or Facebook page. Sorry.
Update: The second show was more steampunk-ish. Maybe it’ll get better as it goes along…