A Puzzling Predicament

SPOILER ALERT!!!! If you are a YBC member who wants to be surprised in 3 weeks by my challenge piece don’t scroll down past the photo of Bob, my new skull friend.

Bob

puzzle layout aOK, if you’re still reading that means you’re either not a YBC member, or you’re just too nosy for your own good. Just don’t spill the beans about this piece. I’ve been having to keep too many projects a secret, and I just wanted to start blogging about this now.

Each year the Yellow Breeches Chapter of the PA Guild of Craftsmen has a Team Challenge with a theme. Last year you remember the Earth, Wind, & Fire Theme project I did with Team Alchemists, right? Well this year we had a problem making teams, so it’s kind of like a giant team of everyone working alone together.

My piece of the pie
My piece of the pie

The theme is Puzzle, and there are two giant layouts that each participant got a piece of. Then we are free to do with that piece what we will. I decided to double up on the puzzle theme and try to piece together bits of my scrap to make piece.

The pieces of my puzzle
The pieces of my puzzle

It’s going to be a wall piece that I envision hanging vertically, but will sit horizontally when joined into the great puzzle situation. If you’re observant, you can pretty much figure out what I’m piecing together. And Bob up there actually served a greater purpose. I used him to try out some painting techniques to use on the background of my puzzle piece. He started out the same color as the layout and somehow I was able to make him look like that. I can’t wait to see what everyone else is making!

Early side view - no tape ©2015 WTEK
Early side view – no tape ©2015 WTEK
Other side with more pieces and tape ©2015 WTEK
Other side with more pieces and tape ©2015 WTEK
The underbelly ©2015 WTEK
The underbelly ©2015 WTEK

4 thoughts on “A Puzzling Predicament

  1. Yeah, I looked. Glad to see the layout schematic. Now I know whose work will be adjacent to mine, I can goof off and just let the neighborhood carry me. 🙂 Good to live next door to you, Wendy.

    Like

Comments are closed.