Some More Chalice Action

Base in your Face! ©2015 WTEK
Base in your Face! ©2015 WTEK
Look at that curvy line ©2015 WTEK
Look at that curvy line ©2015 WTEK

I’ve been plugging away at the chalice. (I’ve also been brainstorming a base for the other sculpture, slightly less successfully.) I designed a base that reflects the the bowl part – it’s chased over air and folded in a similar manner with similar arced shapes.

Once that was formed I’ve been cutting out the bottoms of the stands to fit into the design. The edges are slowly getting finished and I drilled the holes to connect the bowl to the legs. I have to say, with the thickness of the middle portion it’s  looking more like a trophy and less like a chalice. But a trophy for what? (Seriously, leave your ideas in the comments)

Side view Standing alone ©2015 WTEK
Side view Standing alone ©2015 WTEK
Side view with an idea of how it will fit on the base, obviously it need some forming still ©2015 WTEK
Side view with an idea of how it will fit on the base, obviously it need some forming still ©2015 WTEK

Oh, and here’s a spider just because…

Let's be friends!
Let’s be friends!