In Process: One Bumpy, One Smooth(ish)

Hmmm, one step closer...
Hmmm, one step closer…

I’ve been trying to figure out what to do about the chalice. I had an idea, then I couldn’t get the base parts to fit together the way I wanted to again. So it sat there while I worked on a sculpture that involves lots of piercing and filing.

The other sculpture I'm working on...
The other sculpture I’m working on…

Then I needed to work on the base for that, so I switched back to the chalice. I got it back the way I wanted (and taped it so it won’t move!) and worked out a pattern for the base. Now I need to texture that metal, pierce it out then start to finish and assemble the whole thing.

Cue Carmina Burana... ©2015 WTEK
Cue Carmina Burana… ©2015 WTEK

.

.

Did I mention that I’m trying to get it done and photographed in time for an exhibition deadline? Oh, well you can rush it just to get it done. I have fall back pieces if I don’t make it in time.