You Can’t Foldform Nickel!

From start to finish, the process of forging folded nickel ©2015 WTEK
From start to finish, the process of forging folded nickel ©2015 WTEK

I was actually told this by a metalsmith – you can’t foldform nickel! As you can see by looking through my process posts that it is possible. It’s just a lot of work. Nickel is a springy metal (thus why it is used in actual springs) which makes it difficult to work with and keep it from warping.

But I love the color, the durability that nickel provides, so I foldform nickel. Not just little line folds either. OK, this is technically a line fold, but then I forge the edges to get it to curve. This is the same technique I used on the copper parts in Ixis. Didn’t take quite as much annealing for that one though…

Copper, now copper moves like butter, but where’s the challenge in that?

As for the rest of the chalice, that’s coming along nicely too. I’m working out right now how to finish up the base and then once it’s all together I’ll post the rest of the in process photos. You’ll see the challenge isn’t just in using nickel!