Flame On! or the Crazy New Sculpture I’m Working On

Hey, I managed to get into the studio this weekend and look what’s taking shape:

The pieces are formed! ©2015 WTEK
The pieces are formed! ©2015 WTEK

I filed the edges, textured the brass, and formed it into shape. I also chopped off part of the nickel grid to make it fit better.

Then I drilled holes in one side and scalloped the inner edge. Next the other side got a taste of that.

Double scallops. This looks kind of like a helmet lying on its side like this... ©2015 WTEK
Double scallops. This looks kind of like a helmet lying on its side like this… ©2015 WTEK
Cool flame or something more eastern... ©2015 WTEK
©2015 WTEK
Side view. Pretty funky, huh? ©2015 WTEK
Side view. Pretty funky, huh? ©2015 WTEK

 

Here’s the original drawing:flame designThen I started working on a base idea. Of course, as soon as I cut into the metal for the base, I thought that something else might work better. We’ll just see how this goes first…

Kind of looks like a slug here. ©2015 WTEK
Base pattern: Kind of looks like a slug here. ©2015 WTEK