2015 ACC Baltimore Round-Up

View from my hotel room of a clear Inner Harbor Thursday night.
View from my hotel room of a clear Inner Harbor Thursday night.

You may have heard me talking about doing a show last weekend in Baltimore. Here’s how it all went.

First, set-up was pretty easy. Our hotel was right next to the convention center (all be it on the far side from the show entrance) and the weather was cooperating with driving down to Baltimore. My neighbors also ended up being very nice and friendly with beautiful work, though we were in the same section as the flute guy and that never stopped, even after the show ended.

View Saturday morning of a FROZEN OVER Inner Harbor.
View Saturday morning of a FROZEN OVER Inner Harbor.

Friday was a little bit slow foot traffic wise and it was a really long day (10 am – 8 pm). It had nothing on Saturday though. People in the Mid-Atlantic area might realize that the middle two weekends in February have a strangely high rate of snow storms, but Maryland just never seems to be able to handle the snow in quite the same way as some other areas (I’ve lived there, I know). So it wasn’t that there was an enormous amount of snow, but the traffic was at a standstill on the beltway and the snow fell too fast to keep up with cleaning it up. Needless to say, foot traffic on Saturday was ever dwindling as the day stretched on.

Look at my pretty new booth set-up! I got compliments on this as well as my art!
Look at my pretty new booth set-up! I got compliments on this as well as my art!

Sunday we had a warm-ish day and way more people made it out, but there still weren’t many buyers. Did I make my sales goal? No. Did I even come close? No. Will I try the show again? Yes. With these big shows it takes a couple tries to get people to notice you plus the bad weather distorted the actuality of the show’s worthiness. Yes, I took a big hit, but I did get a lot of exposure, good comments from people, and I met a few other metalsmiths who had nice things to say about my work and lots of free, good advice!

I do want to thank all my people who made it out to the show and stopped by to say hi. Your support means so much to me! It was an honor being able to stand amongst so many of the great craftsmen of our time, people who I see on the pages of magazines, people who I admire. So I’ll just work even harder this year to make work worthy of being shown with theirs and next year, I hope to see you there cheering me on!

3 thoughts on “2015 ACC Baltimore Round-Up

  1. Wendy,
    I think that is a very positve and healthy outlook on the expierence. You can only control so much when doing a show and the weather is the one huge factor which isn’t among them. Your work is amazing and your booth design looked wonderful. I am thrilled I was able to attend and get to see it in person.

    Like

  2. Brilliant assessment of your experience and good takeaways, Wendy. It is good to hear from an artist who understands and accepts that a few days out of a year are not what makes or breaks us. Weather is a totally uncontrollable variable. Attitude, on the other hand, is well within our grasp. Good on you!

    Like

Comments are closed.