By Any Other Name…

Sometimes the names of my pieces come to me immediately, other times I have to work to find the right title.

Ways I Name My Art

    • Fragmented is one that named itself, though I did try to change it, but it just really wanted that name ©2015 nickel, brass, copper 13.5" x 13.5" x 3.75" $1550.00
      Fragmented is one that named itself, though I did try to change it, but it just really wanted that name ©2015 WTEK nickel, brass, copper 13.5″ x 13.5″ x 3.75″ $1550.00

      Untitled or Collar VII – I have in the past done the cop-out name and just left it untitled. I pretty much never name my cuffs and many of my earrings have the name of a series, but not individual pieces

    • It Names Itself – Some pieces are designed around a name (my Elements necklaces for example) or the name pops into my head as I’m designing or working on the piece
Carapace ©2014 copper, brass 5 1/2"h x 6"w x 8"d $1825.00
Hmm, it’s like a shell, what’s a fancier term for that? Carapace ©2014 WTEK copper, brass 5 1/2″h x 6″w x 8″d $1825.00
  • It’s Crowdsourced – Yes, I do turn to you sometimes to get ideas for what to call a piece. This is how I named Alluvial Moon and the necklaces named after the moons of Jupiter. Hmm, I see a theme there…
  • The Hardest Way – With most of my vessels and wall pieces, I am driven by the design and the process and just a vague notion of what to name a piece. This is where I get super complicated and move back & forth between the thesaurus and dictionary trying to get just the right feel to the name. I’ll seize on some visual clue or an idea I thought of while making the piece and work toward a poetic and fitting title. This is how Carapace, Akimbo, and Vortex were all named.
  • You know that's slightly chicken-y Akimbo ©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
    You know that’s slightly chicken-y Akimbo ©2012 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass

    The Secret Silly Name – Most of the unnamed pieces actually have a name. Something silly or too on the nose that I use when thinking about it to myself. Akimbo was “chicken,” Stepping Stones was “strips,” I have a ring that is “bowtie,” etc. I like to give a bit of gravity to my pieces and names have power, so I tend to find something better than these.

Do you like the names I give my pieces? How would you name them? How do you name your art?