Waiting for Inspiration

Probably the next piece I'll work on post-ACC ©2015 WTEK
Probably the next piece I’ll work on post-ACC ©2015 WTEK

At any given time, there are unfinished pieces that are sitting around the studio. So are currently being worked on, some are just taking a short break, and others have been sitting there foreeeeevvvvvvveeeeeer.

Since I’ve been working feverishly on my new booth set-up, I haven’t been working on any metalwork the past couple of weeks. That doesn’t mean it hasn’t been at the forefront of my mind, just that I can’t work on it right now.

I had started working on a vessel right as it became time for SBC VII, so that will probably be the next thing I finish, unless I get excited about something new I come up with before I get back.

The background for a wallpiece maybe? ©2015 WTEK
The background for a wallpiece maybe? ©2015 WTEK

Then there is the teapot (or maybe just lidded vessel) that I started last year. It’s in a kind of stasis while I figure out how to do the legs or maybe if I want a complete overhaul. There is also the silver vessel I started over the summer that I think I have a good idea for how I want to finish it now, so that will happen soon also.

Then there is the sorry old sculpture that I was so excited for when I started it, but then the excitement fizzled out. It just sits there mocking me now. I also have a sheet of folded brass that I began at the same time as Downrush, but haven’t decided what to do with yet.

They aren’t all lost causes, some just need time, others a little love. But they’ll all wait until I get all the wood stuff cleaned up in there!

Unfinished Silver Vessel ©2015 WTEK
Unfinished Silver Vessel ©2015 WTEK
Unfinished sculpture parts ©2015 WTEK
Unfinished sculpture parts ©2015 WTEK
Still unfinished "teapot" ©2015 WTEK
Still unfinished “teapot” ©2015 WTEK