Kinda Sketchy

New design I'm working on from initial idea to a mostly complete one. ©2015 WTEK
New design I’m working on from initial idea to a mostly complete one. ©2015 WTEK

As you may or may not realize, I don’t always work from sketches, but usually out of an idea I keep in my head. I’ll do little doodles with notes to help me remember what my original idea is.

My raised pieces usually have a technical drawing that I can refer to as I raise to know a) how big to make the initial disk, and b) where to place my breaks. This is a bit different, and I don’t consider those “sketches.”

Lately I’ve been working primarily with paper prototypes before I begin a piece (or in the middle to work through problems) – still more like technical drawings and less like sketches.

But occasionally I’ll get an idea that I want to make sure I remember exactly as I first envisioned it or to work out design issues/alternatives. Then I need to make an actual sketch of the idea. Here are some with their final results.

Tether ©2013 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
Tether ©2013 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
"Strips" Wallpiece (still needs a name) ©2015 nickel, copper, brass, wood
“Strips” Wallpiece (still needs a name) ©2015 WTEK nickel, copper, brass, wood

And then some come out completely different from the initial idea…THANK THE GODS!

Ixis ©2014 copper, brass, amethyst agate slice
From static to WOW – Ixis ©2014 WTEK copper, brass, amethyst agate slice