We’re Getting There

example of placement and what the connectors will look like. ©2014 WTEK
example of placement and what the connectors will look like. ©2014 WTEK
The stained and sealed wood backing ©2014 WTEK
The stained and sealed wood backing ©2014 WTEK

I thought I would be done by now, at least with the metal part of the Arches Wallpiece. That’s not the case. Turns out that it’s unruly trying to rivet all of this together. Also, I needed the wood piece done so that I could see about the placement of the parts and how it will hang, etc. Plus, I can’t seal it in the studio and use the torch at the same time due to chemical humors wafting around and whatnot.

The pieces held together in their final placement
The pieces held together in their final placement ©2014 WTEK

I am excited about the progress though. All of the rivet holes for the parts are done, I just need to get the tabs that will attach it to the wood placed and riveted on. then the whole gets riveted together and I drill holes and screw it onto the wood backing. I might be using husband labor to help me rivet it together. It’s just a little too big for me to hold and rivet at the same time.

I love the way the homemade stain came out with the acrylic polyurethane sealant over-top. It’s such a rich color and once I get the wax on the bronze I hope/think it will be a nice warm complement.

A side view to show the dimensionality. ©2014 WTEK
A side view to show the dimensionality. ©2014 WTEK

Plus I also made this pen & ink drawing the other evening.

tower drawing ©2014 WTEK
tower drawing ©2014 WTEK

2 thoughts on “We’re Getting There

  1. Intriguing wall piece, I can imagine it will reflect light and give shadows in many different ways, changing with the light of the season or time of the day. And I love your tower drawing!

    Like

Comments are closed.