In Progress: Chains, Pots, & Arches

Check out how the "Arches" wall piece is coming along ©2014 WTEK
Check out how the “Arches” wall piece is coming along ©2014 WTEK
Some nickel pieces to go inside the "arches"
Some nickel pieces to go inside the “arches”

Finally, an in process post! I’ve been working concurrently on the two big projects that I’m in the middle of right now. That way when I get bored with one, I can switch to the other. That’s much preferable to wondering off out of the studio because I’m just sick of filing or planishing or whatever. It also helps me think about the next step in each piece while working on the other one. Kind of frees up the old problem solving area of my brain.

Upside down view of what may or may not be a teapot ©2014 WTEK
Upside down view of what may or may not be a teapot ©2014 WTEK

I also decided to try a chain from the West African Jewelers book I got for my bday. It’s a non-solder, nice thick chain that I thought would be fun. I love the way it came out (though it needs to be longer!) even though my fingers aren’t used to wire work anymore. You can also donate tools, silver, and/or money to the West African Jewelers. If you think our economy’s bad, think about how bad it is when you’re surrounded by the Ebola situation. It’s not just worrying about your life, you also need to worry about your livelihood.

My chain attempt ©2014 WTEK This was done in 18g brass
My chain attempt ©2014 WTEK This was done in 18g brass

One thought on “In Progress: Chains, Pots, & Arches

Comments are closed.