Sculpture Completed!

Figuring out how to attach it all... ©2014 WTEK
Figuring out how to attach it all… ©2014 WTEK

I spent today finishing up the table sculpture I’ve been working on. It was a fun process and I liked the unexpected twisting that happened. It helped me get it to be less symmetrical than it had originally been heading. I had wanted it to be since I was able to get the two pieces to bend almost exactly the same way. But my wonky self prevailed and it ended up more dynamic in the process!

I love the way the agate slice looks in this piece. I actually bought it at a mine in Argentina… in 2004! So it’s been sitting around just waiting for me to design this piece. Unfortunately, I don’t remember what I bought it for, so I’ll have to do some research before pricing this.

A look at the setting before adding the stone ©2014 WTEK
A look at the setting before adding the stone ©2014 WTEK

I think some of the idea of setting the stone in the sculpture came when I was designing my upcoming Integrated Prong workshop. You can see how it worked here to give an interesting design to both sides of the piece.

Now I just need to name it!

 

Close-up of the rivets on the base ©2014 WTEK
Close-up of the rivets on the base ©2014 WTEK
The agate is translucent with just the barest hint of druzy at the center of it ©2014 WTEK
The agate is translucent with just the barest hint of druzy at the center of it ©2014 WTEK
Both sides of the finished sculpture ©2014 WTEK brass, copper, amethyst agate slice
Both sides of the finished sculpture ©2014 WTEK brass, copper, amethyst agate slice

2 thoughts on “Sculpture Completed!

Comments are closed.