Not Quite the Eye of Sauron

The red agate just isn't the right size for this project, unfortunately
The red agate just isn’t the right size for this project, unfortunately

This week I’ve been working on a new table sculpture. I decided to take a break from the silver vessel I’ve been working on to start this new project. I’m hoping that it might end up in the JAM Fall exhibition, but let’s not count our eggs before they’ve hatched…

Progression of the curve(s) while forging the outside of the line folds in copper ©2014 WTEK
Progression of the curve(s) while forging the outside of the line folds in copper ©2014 WTEK

This one has elements similar to Scorpius where I forge a line fold to make it curve around. I have two of these spikes (which I also think of as wings) that will rise up and have an integrated prong set flat agate slice suspended between them. It was going to be a fairly flat piece, meant to be looked at from the front & back, not really from the sides, but as I started to open the forged folds, the spikes began to twist. It made the design so much more dynamic!

The curved and helix-ed pices with the lavender agate ©2014 WTEK
The curved and helix-ed pices with the lavender agate ©2014 WTEK

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had two slices of agate that I could use -the rounder, dark red slice (aka Eye of Sauron) or a lighter, lavender-ish slice that is longer and not as round. While I love the eye-ness of the red piece, it really isn’t the right size or shape for this particular piece, so no Sauron this time, sorry.