Artist Interview – Pyrographer Jenny Germann

Borders. ©Jenny Germann Woodburning, ink and watercolor (handmade walnut frame by Evan H. Germann) 7.25″x8.75″ $265

I first met Jenny Germann, maybe 4 or 5 years ago when she started working for the PA Guild of Craftsmen. Aside from her work with the organization, she is a pyrography artist who creates “drawings” and other wooden objects with images burned into them. You can find her work online at the Jenny Germann website, where you can also purchase her work.

1. How did you get started in your craft? (using your media)

I started woodburning because my husband, a furniture maker, always had these beautiful scraps of wood laying around. I started pilfering them for my own use. I began by painting on them, but progressed to taking a torch to them in order to highlight the grain of the wood. At the time, I was working in a bronze foundry and really enjoying alternative methods to painting. Now I work work a torch and pyrography machine and add watercolor or inks once the burning is done.

 

Strike in an Open Field. ©Jenny Germann Woodburning and ink. 10.5″ x 9″ $600 framed.

2. What has been inspiring/influencing your work lately?

Travel. I have been so many places in the past few months, taking photos, imagining hundreds of different series of paintings. Can’t seem to get enough of the world around me.

3. Who are your favorite artists in your field?

Not that many woodburners to choose from so I will stick with painters and 2D artists. Dick Whitson. Peg Richards. Cielle and Jerome Riddle. Matte Stephens. Jennifer Mercede. Jeff Geib. Heidi Leitzke. Chuck Close. Van Gogh. AND my most favorite artist (although not 2D) Evan Germann.

Wooden blocks for Eloise. ©Jenny Germann

4. What is your favorite customer quote or story?

I love it when people tell me what my work reminds them of. I try to paint places that matter to me or evoke a feeling or a moment in time. When a customer buys a piece of mine because it is evocative of their own memories or experiences, it is such a meaningful connection. Communicating shared experience through my paintings is one of the most rewarding things about making.

5. What is your favorite piece of art or fine craft that you own?

Definitely something my husband made. We have an Arts and Crafts Stickley-inspired cherry sideboard that sits in our living room.