3 New Bowls – Trying to Keep it Simple

An almost finished brass bowl. ©2014 WTEK
You remember this brass bowl, right? ©2014 WTEK

So I decided to make three less involved/smaller bowls. Two of them ended up fitting that idea. The third, of course, ended up growing into a crazy idea of what constitutes “less involved” (though it is smaller than my usual bowl size.)

Because I'm craaaaazy... ©2014 WTEK raised tube rivets
Because I’m craaaaazy… ©2014 WTEK raised tube rivets

When I teach my raised rivet pendant workshop, I always warn my students that it’s difficult to use this style of rivets on two curved forms. The holes don’t line up the same way and you need to account for that. I’m sure that there is some form of math that could help you figure this out. I am not aware of it though.

The other small, less involved bowl - the Rose Bowl (hehe) ©2014 Bronze
The other small, less involved bowl – the Rose Bowl (hehe) ©2014 Bronze

So of course I get the idea of raised rivet elements on the inside of the nickel bowl. I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile now, but always decided to wait to try this due to the technical difficulty. But I couldn’t shake it this time.

Thankfully, it turned out! I was able to eyeball the drill-holes to get them to line up correctly when riveted. I went with tube rivets to emphasize the holes and to add another interesting element on the outside of the bowl. How do you think they turned out?

Inside view of more involved, not quite as small bowl ©2014 WTEK nickel, brass
Inside view of more involved, not quite as small bowl ©2014 WTEK nickel, brass
Side view of more involved, not quite as small bowl ©2014 WTEK nickel, brass
Side view of more involved, not quite as small bowl ©2014 WTEK nickel, brass

2 thoughts on “3 New Bowls – Trying to Keep it Simple

Comments are closed.