Here We Come a-Vesseling

Example of paper patterns on the copper base structure.
Example of paper patterns on the copper base structure. ©2014 WTEK

This weekend was supposed to be a weekend of studio time. I was so excited. Then I didn’t feel well. I would’ve gone in anyway, but I was a little dizzy, so I figured torch work wouldn’t be prudent. Hammering either for that matter. So I didn’t get as much done as I’d have liked.

I did decide to work on a bunch of new bowls. Smaller versions of Vortex. I was able to work on the patterns for these. I also worked on a prototype for the YBC Team Challenge project (out team’s officially called the Alchemists now.) So it was totally wasted I guess.

Look at the belly!
Look at the belly! ©2014 WTEK

Then I started sawing out the armor parts for the vessel I’ve been working on. Sheets of brass had been folded earlier in the week and I had also worked on patterns last weekend. I have to admit that I didn’t finish piercing the last piece because I broke my last saw blade. New ones are arriving tomorrow, so don’t worry.

I also started working on the pieces of metal for the vortex-y bowls. The smallest one has air-chased brass for the main part. That needs sawing, too. I have to say that my piercing has improved by leaps and bounds over the past couple of years. Practice makes (almost) perfect.

The (mostly) cut out armor pieces.
The (mostly) cut out armor pieces ©2014 WTEK
The brass for the mini-vortex bowl. ©2014 WTEK
The brass for the mini-vortex bowl. ©2014 WTEK

2 thoughts on “Here We Come a-Vesseling

Comments are closed.