The Little Things that Frustrate

This looks pretty crazy, but it was even funnier when I had a T-stake in the extender!
This looks pretty crazy, but it was even funnier when I had a T-stake in the extender!

I’ve been slowly plugging away at my new vessel. There isn’t much to show because it’s mostly been little tweaks, planishing, and working on the edge. Nothing that’s noticeable in photos.

I did decide to bring the lip in on the ‘bowl’ part slightly which made it a huge pain when tightening up the form and planishing. That along with the long part made it difficult to get the right fit on the stakes I have. I had to cobble a solution that, as you can see, looks absolutely ridiculous.

Then came the edge. I had to try and mark even edges on both sides of a form that isn’t symmetrical in one direction, can’t be flat sanded, and doesn’t even have a hemispherical bowl. Lot’s of trial and error. Then that curved in lip and the long part got in the way of my saw frame. I had to cut away little bits at a time.

But that part is over! I just need to file the edges and then I can start on the armor pieces. Now it gets exciting again!

See, not much different than the last image in the last post. ©2014 WTEK
See, not much different than the last image in the last post. ©2014 WTEK

2 thoughts on “The Little Things that Frustrate

  1. Wendy, I love the problem-solving methods you come up with to enable you to create the work you see in your artist’s eye. You don’t compromise; you improvise – just fabulous. Can’t wait to see the finished piece, but I enjoy the process posts very much, too.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Paula! Ideally, I would figure it out beforehand… But seriously, after watching the Haitian smith at the Folklife Festival years back using a ball pein hammer and wooden plank to chase old steel drums, I figure you can always Gerry rig something.

      Like

Comments are closed.