New Vessel in the Works

And so it begins. ©2014 WTEK
And so it begins. ©2014 WTEK
Some of the raising completed. ©2014 WTEK
Some of the raising completed. ©2014 WTEK

Remember that piece I had the sketch for last week? I’ve been hammering away getting the base shape done. It’s all raised and now I just need to shore up the shape and decide on planishing (probably) or not and leaving the texture from the raising process. The next step after that will be paper mock-ups of the series of overlapping metal parts that will be riveted over the open part of this piece. They’ll be similar to that silver necklace I just made. Very armadillo-y. I even know in advance how I’ll put the base on. Imagine that!

All raised up! ©2014 WTEK
All raised up! ©2014 WTEK
It'll be standing up like this. ©2014 WTEK
It’ll be standing up like this. ©2014 WTEK