Team Work

fire yo
Burn it all…

I don’t work well with others. It comes from being a bit of a control freak. When I watch reality shows like Face Off, Work of Art, or Inkmaster, I always cringe when it’s a team challenge. So what did I do this year? I joined a team challenge being put on by my new chapter of the PA Guild of Craftsmen, the Yellow Breeches (there’s a story to that name, but I’m not getting into it here.)

Christine Goldbeck hard at work

I decided I needed to push myself and since I’ve been getting inspired lately by non-metal work, I thought that this might help me branch out in my own creative endeavors. Also, one of the biggest reasons I joined the Guild (and recently changed chapters) was to meet and interact with other local artists. The best way to do that is to participate in chapter activities.

The teams were chosen at random based mostly on where members who wanted to participate live (to make it easier to work

Cairn Lamp by Don Kensinger
Cairn Lamp by Don Kensinger

together.) Our theme that was voted on for this year is “Earth, Wind, & Fire” which we are free to interpret as we see fit. The other two members of my team are Christine Goldbeck who I knew before hand. She has work at the Guild, teachers a ton of workshops there, and is just generally a fun person. She works mainly in 2D working with photographs and mixed media paintings. The other team member I didn’t know before. Don Kensinger works with stones and creates oil lamps and cairn style electrical lamps.

The Team
The Team

We still don’t have a name for our team and we only had our first meeting last night, so we’re in the very, very early stages of developing our piece. Obviously I will be sharing the process and Christine has promised to document everything. I can’t wait to see what we come up with!