In Process: Folded Bowl

Folded., textured, and cut out. ©2014 WTEK
Folded, textured, and cut out. ©2014 WTEK

You may remember me working on a prototype for a folded bowl. That’s what I’ve been working on lately when I’m able to get into the studio. I like the process so far and I definitely want to use it again.

It was much quicker to get a deeper bowl using this method than it would have been if I were to to raise and/or sink it the traditional way. Also, this way I get little corners. I like the shape of a shallow curve at the bottom with steeper sides.

Formed and riveted. ©2014 WTEK
Formed and riveted. ©2014 WTEK
Close-up of the riveted corner ©2014 WTEK
Close-up of the riveted corner ©2014 WTEK

After texturing and then folding the brass (accounting for any difficulties that might arise from folds disrupting how it would then fold together), I cut out the shape I had decided on, rounded the form, and then riveted the edges. I always knew that I wanted contrasting fins, so designing these was the next part.

Three points on the bottom ©2014 WTEK
Three points on the bottom ©2014 WTEK

Because I was able to save time by forming the bowl in this way, I decided to use the time intensive but awesome texture I’ve used in Ngaru and my Pebble jewelry series. So I decided on placement of the fins and where to put that pebbly texture. Yesterday I spent my studio time chasing the texture in. Remember, for each of those dots I hammered a chasing tool. So one hammer blow = one dot. Like I said, time intensive. And mindnumbingly boring. But I love the way it turns out, so…

Three fins all dotted up ©2014 WTEK
Three fins all dotted up ©2014 WTEK

2 thoughts on “In Process: Folded Bowl

Comments are closed.