SBC VI Completed!

Crazy, mangled piece of nickel.
Crazy, mangled piece of nickel.

Yesterday was the day. Did you work on your own Super Bowl? Don’t forget to add your photos to the SBC VI Flickr Pool and if you have a blog post about it link in the comments section of this post. I will have a post later this week showcasing the other participants work.

Side view of the folds.
Side view of the folds.

Before the big unveil, I wanted to share a few more in process pics of this year’s bowl. You know I enjoy working with nickel despite its…challenges. For everyone who ever told you that it was impossible to fold form, I give you these images of the double wedge formed in two directions (that’s four wedges all together, folded at two separate times.) Each fold was further “enhanced” with crazy hammermarks from a ball pein sinking hammer. Then it was COMPLETELY FLATTENED (aside from a slight vein.) Make sure to take plenty of anti-inflammatories if you decide to try this for yourself. And ANNEAL, ANNEAL, ANNEAL!

See how flat I was able to get it after all those folds?!
See how flat I was able to get it after all those folds?!

A couple more in process pics:

What the nickel became. My hubby said they look like Martian amoebas.
What the nickel became. My hubby said they look like Martian amoebas.
Testing out all the parts.
Testing out all the parts.
Cut out portion of the bowl.
Cut out portion of the bowl.

And now the big reveal:

SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
SBC VI other side
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
SBC VI side
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass (bottom view)
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass (bottom view)
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass
SBC VI
SBC VI ©2014 WTEK bronze, nickel, brass

At some point I’ll get the “official” photos done. And I already named this one (even before I started it, can you believe it?) CASCADE.

4 thoughts on “SBC VI Completed!

Comments are closed.