Scrapitude

Scrap Containers
Scrap Containers
Custom Earrings to match Brass Crescent Necklace
Custom Earrings to match Brass Crescent Necklace

As a metalworker, you end up with a lot of scraps left over. I try to use as much of my scrap as I can, but I do have a pile up of little corners and edges that are adding up. Sometimes I’m inspired by my scraps, like the pendant I made from the cut out bowl section of Ebb & Flow. Other times there’s a piece of scrap that is just perfect for a new piece I’m working on. Then there are the times the left overs just come in handy like when the couple who bought my Brass Bib necklace wanted a pair of earring to go with it. I had the original scraps of folded brass left over so the metal matched perfectly.

Super Bowl ©2011 Maureen Brusa Zappellini scrap brass and copper

Saving and reusing scraps is a practice that many jewelers and metalsmiths employ to save money (and sometimes the earth.) Looking back through past SBC participants’ work, I rediscovered Maureen Brusa Zappellini‘s bowl made from bench scraps.

Then there is the amazing work of Richard Salley who is always showcasing pieces he’s made from scrap on Facebook.

Neckpiece by Richard Salley ©2013 etched copper, brass, nickel, turquoise