Jewel Encrusted

With the Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug out today, I was thinking a lot about dragons. I read the Hobbit when I was a kid and I don’t remember too much from the book, just the highlights. What I do remember was that Smaug had quite the collection of metalwork. Jewels, gold, goblets, things like that.

colberteyeI have a vivid memory of imagining the dragon with his jewel encrusted belly, all the bracelets, goblets, coins and gems glistening in the torchlight. How awesome is that?! Then I watched Colbert and saw that there is a woman who had a platinum heart surgically implanted in her eye. HER EYE! Maybe it isn’t so magnificent to be jewel encrusted after all…

But I still hope to see all of Smaug’s jeweled barnacles when I get to the movie this week. I hope it’s sparkly.

PS I’m not sure if I mentioned this in the past, but my hubby lost his wedding ring on our honeymoon…in New Zealand…where they filmed part of Lord of the Rings…while riding a horse that was in the movie…