A Maelstrom of Metal

The initial forming of the brass pieces.
The initial forming of the brass pieces. ©2013 WTEK

I’ve been working hard in and out of the studio this past week. I’m getting a bunch of photos ready to add some more cuffs onto my Etsy site. But most importantly, I’ve been hard at work on that crazy vessel.

When we last saw said vessel, it was waiting for the eel-like parts to get formed. This is a kind of annoying process since it involves me making small incremental changes while twisting around into all kinds of crazy position to get the right angle on the stake. And it was freezing cold. Add these together and you get a lot of breaks in between forming each piece.

The first two formed pieces. ©2013 WTEK
The first two formed pieces. ©2013 WTEK

I have them where I want them now, though there is one spot that will be tricky while riveting it together. You didn’t think it would be a walk in the park, did you? I did also get the base designed and it turned out pretty great. I just need to make some little tabs to connect it onto the bowl, then I’ll have all the parts done.

Plus I even have the name, can you believe how on top of things I am this go around?!

A shot of the interwoven madness ©2013 WTEK
A shot of the interwoven madness ©2013 WTEK
Check out the base ©2013
Check out the base ©2013
Another angle of the base ©2013 WTEK
Another angle of the base ©2013 WTEK