Just Can’t Keep it Simple

This is the simplerside...maybe. ©2013 WTEK
This is the simpler side…maybe. ©2013 WTEK

Yes, I do still have to finish that wall piece I started. But this week I went back to the bowl I’ve been working on (you know, the one that could be a bowl, teapot, vessel, etc?)

It will officially be an unlidded vessel. I spent Monday afternoon working out the design that had been fermenting (That’s right – ferment not foment) in my head. I wanted a bunch of thin layered strips to float around the rim of the piece. So I cut a bunch of them out and started placing them.

This side looks more complicated, huh? ©2013 WTEK
This side looks more complicated, huh? ©2013 WTEK

This seems a little easier than it actually was. I needed to make sure that each piece would be able to riveted on. They overlap and undulate and have to be added in a very specific order. Otherwise it just won’t work out.

Now I just need to cut them out of metal, texture and form them, then place them, drill the holes… wait, that’s a lot of steps. There’s just a lot more work to do. I do have some time this weekend to start in on it though.

Oh yeah, and then there’s the question of feet…

Another view that looks eel-like ©2013 WTEK
Another view that looks eel-like ©2013 WTEK
Another eelish view ©2013 WTEK
Another eelish view ©2013 WTEK

One thought on “Just Can’t Keep it Simple

Comments are closed.