A New Necklace in the Works

The folded brass sheet.
The folded brass sheet.

The other day I saw a bib style necklace online and I thought that I wanted to make something like that in my style. I wanted to make it out of brass with three elements like in the one I saw, but it would be larger, more 3D and made out of foldformed sheet.

First I started by folding a large sheet of brass.

The three initial pieces. I thought I'd like that point, but I was wrong.
The three initial pieces. I thought I’d like that point, but I was wrong.

Then I cut out the three shapes that will dangle around the wearer’s neck. Initially I thought the bottom piece would be shaped differently than the other two. I didn’t really like it that way, so I cut off the tip and then filed the three pieces up nice. I slightly formed them to get an idea of how they will lie on the wearer.

I still need to make the part that goes behind the neck and then attach everything together. Hopefully this will be done before the PA Guild show next weekend. We’ll see.

I like the way they nestle up together this way.
I like the way they nestle up together this way.
Great dynamic edge. Now I need to start layering.
Great dynamic edge. Now I need to start layering.

I also finished forming that bowl shape I restarted working on last week. The ends curve slightly inward now. Next up, I’ll make some elements that will get riveted onto it, building it up further. This will NOT be ready by next weekend. Bummer, but I won’t rush it.

7 thoughts on “A New Necklace in the Works

  1. Love the necklace…and the bowl as well! Can’t wait to see the finished necklace…looks like something Danaerys Targarean would wear.

    Like

    1. Theresa, sometimes it helps to just think of it as practice. It’s easier to break out and try something big and bold if you look at it not as a finished piece that you’re going to sell (or show people even) but as an exercise to stretch yourself. I find that I feel more free when I don’t worry about the preciousness of a piece.

      Like

Comments are closed.