Series-ous Behavior

Ngaru ©2012 bronze nickel, brass
Ngaru detail ©2012 bronze nickel, brass

Working in a series, does it always mean repeating the same design over and over? Usually it means taking a particular theme, techniques, and/or color/shape and repeating it throughout a number of works. Series can last a few weeks or reappear throughout an artists career (though I’d probably call that a theme rather than an ongoing series.)

Pebble Pendant ©2013 sterling silver, brass
Pebble Pendant ©2013 WTEK sterling silver, brass

Recently I’ve been working on a series of pieces initially inspired by my Rivet Pendant workshop. At first there was one rectangular pendant with a raised rivet section patterned like the nickel portions of Ngaru. This had a spin off pair of earrings. I would say they matched.

Pebble Moon Pendant ©2013 WTEK sterling silver, copper, brass
Pebble Moon Pendant ©2013 WTEK sterling silver, copper, brass

Then I wanted to use the same idea on a rounder form. In came the standard oval shape. But should it be exactly the same where I rivet a smaller oval onto the backing? No, this time I went with something asymmetric, a partial oval like a piece of moon. I really liked the positioning of these two shapes.

Empty Moon Earrings ©2013 WTEK sterling silver
Empty Moon Earrings ©2013 WTEK sterling silver

Trying to design some statement earrings, I saw the positioning pattern sitting on my bench (slovenly behavior has its advantages) and loved the negative space from the pattern cut out. Ta da! New earrings were born. These then spawned earring based on the pebbled shape from the pendant. These then inspired ones that were cut out themselves in the middle.

Pebble Moon Earrings ©2013 WTEK sterling silver
Pebble Moon Earrings ©2013 WTEK sterling silver

In this process, I did some serial designing. Each piece was based off of elements of a previous piece. So in this way the pieces all compliment each other without being too “matchy-matchy.” Will I do more in this series? Who knows? Maybe I’ll get hooked on another idea that leads me down a different twisting path, we’ll see.

Desert Moon Earrings ©2013 WTEK copper sterling silver
Desert Moon Earrings ©2013 WTEK copper sterling silver