In Progress: Tall, Layered Vessel

The original sketch
The original sketch

Remember that I mentioned I had some ideas about how to make some new, taller vessels? Well I recently began making one and it has taken me a bit out of my creative slump.

I had an idea to have multiple parts that are riveted together Ebb & Flow style, but in a taller form. I sketched an idea out, then I made some paper prototypes of how it would look. I used these for patterns.

Different versions of the arches.
Different versions of the arches.

Then I cut two of the pieces out of metal (I had a previously sunk and planished bowl that will be the bottom.) Now I needed to decide on how the holes would be on the nickel piece. I started drawing ones like in Ebb & Flow, but I didn’t want to just copy the same old idea.

I had an inspiration to make arches instead of arbitrary holey shapes. This may have been tangentially related to the Japanese short stories (that are contemporary, but whatever) I had read just before designing. So I worked on these, trying to get just the right configuration.

The final design.
The final design.

Once I figured this out, I cut out the pattern, drew it onto the metal, and then drilled it and cut out the holes. Finally I filed it and gave it a cursory shaping. I’m excited for the way it is coming along and I can’t wait to get it together. Still have a lot of sawing and filing before then though…

Partially cut out nickel.
Partially cut out nickel.
What was removed.
What was removed.
Fully pierced.
Fully pierced.
An idea of what it will be eventually. ©2013 WTEK
An idea of what it will be eventually. ©2013 WTEK

6 thoughts on “In Progress: Tall, Layered Vessel

    1. Ha, just after posting this I went in the studio and the design has changed quite a bit. Those patterns aren’t even being used anymore! Still going to be cool though, just more net stuff.

      Like

Comments are closed.