In Progress: New Sculpture

I actually have two different ideas using the base on this design...
The original prototype.

It’s true, I don’t do many sculptures. Usually I mask my sculpture in table object form. You may remember that awhile ago I was working on a paper prototype for one. Well yesterday I started working on it in metal.

First I shaped up the paper patterns, giving a curvier shape to the bottom piece (also giving it nubbins to make it sit more stably.) Then a rough cut some nickel and brass and textured it. Then I whammed it with my hammer, creating various line folds.

After the “fun” process of opening up all the folds and flattening the metal (have I mentioned how springy nickel is?) I then cut out the actual shapes. Now I need to clean the pieces up a bit, anneal them again, and then form them into their final shapes. After that it will all be riveted together (naturally.) There is also another piece of brass that will probably get worked in between the two nickel parts.

New and improved paper patterns.
New and improved paper patterns.
Waiting to be opened.
Waiting to be opened.
Ta da!
Ta da!
Three pieces all cut out and awaiting the next step. ©2013 WTEK
Three pieces all cut out and awaiting the next step. ©2013 WTEK

3 thoughts on “In Progress: New Sculpture

Comments are closed.