Work in Progress – A New Matching Set

The design process with the two templates above.
The design process with the two templates above.

Yes, you read that right. I made a set of matching pieces. This doesn’t happen all that often, so you should mark this on your calendar.

But seriously, these pieces were inspired by my pendant that was inspired by my Super Bowl. Sometimes you just get a really good idea that keeps going. I decided that I wanted to try the pendant design as something smaller, so I thought, “I’ll make a ring.” That thought led to, “why not earrings, too?” Which naturally led to, “a pendant would really tie this set together.”

The cut out pieces of silver.
The cut out pieces of silver. Obviously I waited to texture them until after cutting them out, regardless of what I said below…
Cutting out the insides is not my favorite thing in the world...
Cutting out the insides is not my favorite thing in the world…

The ring and pendant are made out of slightly thicker sterling silver sheet, while I kept the earrings lighter. I textured the silver, cut out the shapes and filed the edges. Then I cut out the inner shapes, once again filed, then sanded everything up all nice.

The next step was adding the other parts – little hoops in the earrings and on the back of the pendant, ear wires, chain, and the shank on the ring. After it was all put together and a final clean-up, I darkened it all with liver of sulfur. You didn’t think I’d keep them shiny, did you?

Everything soldered and awaiting the final clean-up.
Everything soldered and awaiting the final clean-up.
All put together and shiny.
All put together and shiny.
See what it looks like worn.
See what it looks like worn.
Ah, that feels better. They're all dark and lovely now.
Ah, that feels better. They’re all dark and lovely now.

2 thoughts on “Work in Progress – A New Matching Set

Comments are closed.