The Making of Jangala – Guest Post by Lynnette Shelley

This is another of my guest in process posts. Lynnette Shelley was featured here on Hammermarks before and has had a ton of shows already this year. This post was previously on her blog, Pen and Think, as a three parter in mid-February and all photos and videos are courtesy of the artist. But I wanted you all to see a different kind of artist’s process. Enjoy!

Jangala ©2013 Lynnette Shelley
Jangala beginning stages ©2013 Lynnette Shelley

I’ve been working on a new pastel artwork the past couple of days called “Jangala”. Jangala is a Sanskrit word meaning ‘uncultivated land’ and is the origins of the English word ‘jungle’. So this piece features a leopard against a fantastical stylized jungle backdrop. I took a few photos as well as short youtube video of me working on it.

I don’t like to play favorites with my artwork but I must admit I am very happy with how this piece turned out overall. Compositionally, I think it is very sound, and there is a lot of movement in the artwork despite the fact that the main subject is sitting still. The stylized plant life motif is colorful without (I think) being gaudy. I used a lot of exotic floral designs to play up the lush and fertile jungle aspects, while the leopard contrasts with a quiet stillness amongst the tangled overgrowth.

Jangala ©2013 Lynnette Shelley
Jangala ©2013 Lynnette Shelley

I am really liking how the oil pastels (and colored pencils) work on Ampersand’s Pastelbord, which is what I used on this piece. It’s definitely one of my new favorite surfaces to use with my art.

These photos are a little dark as a snowstorm is headed our way and it’s very overcast and rainy at the moment. The artwork is very vibrant in person. I am applying to a bunch of art shows this weekend so I’ll most likely add this piece to one of my applications so look for it at a future art show in 2013.

“Jangala”
24 x 36 inches
Oil Pastels and Colored Pencils on Pastelbord

V
Jangala ©2013 Lynnette Shelley
Lynnette working on Jangala
Lynnette working on Jangala

A video of Lynnette working on the painting up to this point:

V
Jangala ©2013 Lynnette Shelley
V
Jangala ©2013 Lynnette Shelley
V
Close-up of Jangala ©2013 Lynnette Shelley

Lynnette talking about the process behind Jangala: