As Yet Unnamed Super Bowl V

Before and after shots of the liver of sulfur patination of the bronze.
Before and after shots of the liver of sulfur patination of the bronze.

I finished up my Super Bowl yesterday, ending just about 6pm. There was plenty of time to watch the game (though I didn’t) and I got to celebrate with a nice beer from DuClaw – the aptly named EuForia.

I ended up not putting a base or legs on the bowl. I liked the idea of it floating over the table surface and leaving cool shadows, but I disliked the idea of having either rivets showing inside the

Half of it is riveted.
Half of it is riveted.

bowl at random intervals or a detached base that was visible through the holes in the nickel part. Plus the few of you who responded when I asked your opinion on the matter suggested no base. So thank you for helping me out!

As always, it took a while to rivet it together (which was mostly all that was done yesterday.) There are 24 rivets holding this bad boy

Tight fit, huh?
Tight fit, huh?

together. It turned out that all three pieces fit together nicely, a fact which surprises me every time it happens. I always hold my breath until the last rivet goes in. Figuratively of course.

It turned out rather nice, if I do say so myself. It was different going with such an organic shape right through the middle of the bowl. The shape is really striking though, definitely worth the extra time. I’m already thinking about some jewelry designs using this theme.

How I hold it together while riveting.
How I hold it together while riveting.

Did your Super Bowl turn out the way you thought it would? Make sure to add your photos to SBC 2013 Flickr Group, I’ll be doing a post featuring the other participants’ work later in the week. Also, feel free to link to any Super Bowl posts on your blog in the comments here and I’ll make sure to include them in that post as well.

Super Bowl V ©2013 bronze, nickel, brass bottom view
Super Bowl V ©2013 bronze, nickel, brass bottom view
Super Bowl V ©2013 bronze, nickel, brass inside view
Super Bowl V ©2013 bronze, nickel, brass inside view
Not a great shot, but gives you an idea of the side profile. I love that dipping edge!
Not a great shot, but gives you an idea of the side profile. I love that dipping edge!
Each Super Bowl is accompanied by a nice cold beer.
Each Super Bowl is accompanied by a nice cold beer.